Child Injury Attorney Greg Tsioros
Child Abuse Defense Attorney in Houston: Brazoria, Ft. Bend, Galveston, Harris & Montgomery Counties
If you’re in the middle of a Houston child injury investigation, you probably already know how complicated the legal process can be. Cooperating with investigators may not necessarily be in your best interest. Texas Child Protection Services (CPS) takes child neglect and exploitation accusations very seriously.
Child Abuse Charges
Ensuring the safety of a child is the legal responsibility of anyone that has legal custody of a child in Houston, including parents, teachers, child care workers and medical personnel. Causing child bodily injury or acting in a manner that is reckless while supervising the welfare of a child is grounds for a CPS investigation. A criminal charge for causing injury to a child can occur as the result of either an intentional act or an act of omission.
Many parents or caregivers are shocked when they learn that they are the subject of a criminal negligence investigation. Nevertheless, child abuse investigations often arise from inaccurate information and testimony. CPS has the authority to remove a child from your home and gather information that could be used in a criminal investigation.
Intentionally causing harm to a child, elderly person or disabled individual is prohibited under Texas law. Any of the following could result in criminal charges:
- Bodily injury
- Serious bodily injury
- Serious impairment, mental deficiency or injury
Texas Child Injury Penalties
Causing injury or acting recklessly with kids could lead to one of the following punishments:
- State Jail Felony – between six months and two years in jail and a fine of up to $10,000
- Third Degree Felony – between two and ten years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000
- Second Degree Felony – between two and 20 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000
Child Violence Defense
Even tougher punishments than those listed above can be instituted in the state of Texas if someone causes the death of a child. CPS investigations can be extremely rigorous and often lengthy. If you or a loved one has been charged with a child safety violation, it’s important that you take steps to protect your legal rights. Remember, the government must prove that a defendant committed the alleged crime beyond a reasonable doubt.
The best thing you can do if accused of being reckless with kids is to hire an experienced attorney to defend your rights. Call Greg Tsioros today at (832) 752-5972.