call us
(832) 752-5972
24/7 FREE CONSULTATION
contact form

Houston Sex Crime Lawyer

Attorney Greg Tsioros

Sex Crimes

Being charged with a sex crime is a horrifying experience and can be very detrimental to your life. A conviction of such a crime can hurt your family, damage your reputation and ruin your career. If you are ever facing charges of a sex crime it is important to hire an attorney experienced in various sex crimes offenses. The Law Office of Greg Tsioros is prepared to fight to protect your rights and defend your reputation.

Call Greg Tsioros today for a free consultation: (832) 752-5972

Sex Crimes in Houston

Greg Tsioros has experience in dealing with a variety of sex crime allegations. There are a number of offenses covered under Texas sex crime law, including:

Depending on whether your charge is a misdemeanor or a felony, punishments in the State of Texas include:

  • Prison (2-99 years)
  • Lifelong sex offender registration
  • Misdemeanor fines of $500-$4,000
  • Felony fines up to $10,000 (per offense)
Defending Houston Sex Crimes

Mr.Tsioros will provide you with a thorough and vigorous defense. He will examine all of the evidence gathered for your case while pursuing other evidence that could be helpful in your defense. He will review any possible motivation someone could use to bear false witness against you pertaining to your charges as well. Give Greg Tsioros a call today and let him review your case.

Contact Sex Crimes Defense Lawyer – Greg Tsioros

Greg Tsioros has experience in both the prosecution and defense aisle. He knows the common strategies that prosecutors go after in sex crime cases and how to effectively defend against them. Let his experience help you when you need it most. Mr. Tsioros works hard for his clients to achieve the best outcome possible. While being charged with a sex crime is a scary and overwhelming situation, having a dedicated defense attorney guide you through the complex legal process can help put your mind at ease. If you are facing a sex crime charge, call the Law Office of Greg Tsioros for a no-cost consultation today. He will answer any questions you have about your case in confidence and explain how best to proceed. Make an appointment to review your case today.

 


Give Greg Tsioros a call today at (832) 752-5972 to learn how to fight sex crime charges.


Aggravated Sexual Assault

Texas law prescribes serious penalties for sexual assault crimes, but the most severe penalties are reserved for those convicted of aggravated sexual assault. A sexual assault conviction can dramatically jeopardize a defendant’s reputation and future.

In the state of Texas, sexual assault is a 2nd degree felony and is punishable by between two and 20 years in state prison. Aggravated sexual assault, on the other hand, is charged as a 1st degree felony. An aggravated sexual assault conviction can land a defendant in prison for a minimum of five years. Depending on the nature of the crime and the defendant’s criminal record, the court can even impose a lifetime sentence.

Any sexual assault crime that causes injury or death can be charged as aggravated sexual assault. Threatening a victim with injury or death, the use of a deadly weapon or using a date rape drug can also lead to an aggravated sexual assault charge. Crimes against children under the age of 14, the disabled or the elderly will typically spawn an aggravated sexual assault prosecution.

Read here for more information on aggravated sexual assault.

Back to Top

 


Child Molestation

Child molestation is a significant problem in Texas. To make matters worse, thousands of people are falsely accused of child molestation every year. It seems that raising false molestation charges is an effective way to get a parent out of the home, win a custody battle or earn a little attention.

Just being associated with a child molestation accusation is damaging enough, but it’s far worse to be convicted and sent to prison. It’s important to remember that being found guilty of child molestation doesn’t require penal penetration or intercourse. Improper touching, even through clothing, is sufficient to obtain a conviction.

Child molestation charges can also be filed for exposing a child to sexual activity or pornographic images. A child molestation charge should never be taken lightly. A second degree felony conviction for molestation can send a defendant to prison for up to 20 years. Using a weapon or force to molest a child is punishable by a first degree felony and as many as 99 years in prison.

Read here for more information on child molestation.

Back to Top

 


Give Greg Tsioros a call today at (832) 752-5972 to learn how to fight sex crime charges.


Child Pornography

Even if you avoid going to prison on a child pornography charge, you may still have to live with a criminal record, financial penalties and a requirement to register as a sex offender. Texas sex crimes, especially those that involve minor children under the age of 17, can destroy a defendant’s reputation and make it extremely difficult to find suitable employment and housing. A conviction for possessing, creating or distributing child pornography can also damage friendships, professional connections and family relationships.

Allegations of sexual impropriety must be fought vigorously from the very beginning of a criminal investigation. Federal and state task forces have been established to reduce the trafficking of child pornography on the Internet. Law enforcement officials act quickly to seize computer hardware, images and other evidence. The evidence must be thoroughly analyzed by a qualified criminal defense team, and the search and seizure procedures that were used to obtain the evidence must be carefully reviewed.

Read here for more information on child pornography.

Back to Top

 


Child Sexual Abuse

Child sexual abuse charges, including false allegations of wrongdoing, must be challenged and disproved in a court of law. When it comes to sex crime charges involving minor children, the deck is stacked against you and your family. Even close friends and professional associates are likely to walk away from a sexual abuse defendant. The stigma connected with sex crimes can be both unfair and overwhelming.

The best time to retain a qualified defense attorney is at the very beginning of a criminal investigation. You’ll definitely need the assistance of someone that is willing to listen to your side of the story and knows how to protect your legal rights.

Not only can a sex crime conviction land you in jail or prison, you could be hit with costly financial penalties and a requirement to register as a sex offender. False allegations of child sexual abuse often arise from custody disputes or children in need of attention. It’s vital that you take the necessary steps to protect your future.

Read here for more information on child sexual abuse.

Back to Top

 


Date Rape

The essence of date rape is having sexual relations with another person without their consent. There is no specific date rape law in Texas, but date rape can be charged as either a sexual assault or aggravated sexual assault offense. Date rape generally occurs between two people that have an ongoing romantic relationship, but date rape may occur even if the parties only have a casual or business relationship under certain circumstances.

The Texas Family Code defines the meaning of a dating relationship for the purpose of prosecuting date rape. In most cases, the two parties were known to have a romantic or intimate relationship. Factors such as how long the relationship lasted, the nature of the relationship and the frequency of interaction are factors to be considered.

Making sexual contact with another person without their consent is a crime. This includes sexual contact of any kind and penetration of the victim’s sex organ, anus or mouth. The charge can be elevated to aggravated sexual assault if the offender employs violence, threats, a deadly weapon or a date rape drug.

Read here for more information on date rape.

Back to Top

 


Give Greg Tsioros a call today at (832) 752-5972 to learn how to fight sex crime charges.


Indecency with a Child

No one ever said that life is fair. When someone is falsely charged with indecency with a minor child in the state of Texas, the consequences can be devastating. False accusations of statutory rape, child molestation or child abuse can arise from any number of unexpected or difficult circumstances. Sometimes children are unfairly influenced by a health care professional or therapist. Moreover, estranged spouses have been known to use children in order to have their way in a custody dispute.

The available penalties for committing a sex crime with a minor child are substantial. The allegations of wrongdoing may be inaccurate, but a defendant can still be sent to jail or required to register as a sex offender. This makes getting a good job next to impossible. The prosecution bears the burden of proving every element of a criminal charge. It’s vital that you protect your legal rights and challenge the evidence in court.

Read here for more information on indecency with a child.

Back to Top

 


Indecent Exposure

The serious nature of an indecent exposure conviction should never be discounted. Sex crimes, especially if the case involves a minor child, can easily destroy a defendant’s reputation and future. Speaking with an experienced criminal defense lawyer at the very outset of an indecent exposure investigation is the best way to avoid the filing of criminal charges. An indecent exposure conviction is punishable by incarceration and financial penalties.

Crimes of a sexual nature are treated severely by the police, courts and community at large. Unfortunately, sex crimes often involve unfounded assumptions and subjective conclusions. Just having your name associated with a sex crime is cause for alarm. An indecent exposure defendant should take immediate action to protect their legal rights and challenge the prosecution’s evidence.

A Texas sex crime accusation will trigger a comprehensive investigation by the law enforcement community. Sex crime cases often include the opinions of family members, physicians and therapists. Even an indecent exposure charge can grow into an emotionally charged crusade against a criminal defendant.

Read here for more information on indecent exposure.

Back to Top

 


Internet Sex Crimes

Like any sex crime, Internet sex crimes are difficult to overcome. It may seem as though everyone is suddenly against you. Sex crimes charges immediately stigmatize a defendant with inaccurate and unfair characterizations.

If you have been charged with online solicitation of a minor, distributing pornography or some other Internet sex crime, the authorities may have already seized your computer and data files. The prosecutor receives public acclaim for sending Internet sex crime defendants to prison for up to 20 years. You can also be hit with a fine of up to $10,000.

It gets even worse. You could be required to register as a sex offender. The public at large and every employer in the state will have access to the record of your criminal conviction. Getting a good job will become next to impossible. An Internet sex crime charge has to be fought aggressively if you want to restore the freedom and opportunity you once knew.

Read here for more information on internet sex crimes.

Back to Top

 


Give Greg Tsioros a call today at (832) 752-5972 to learn how to fight sex crime charges.


Prostitution

Although a first-time prostitution offense is usually charged as a misdemeanor, the available punishments increase significantly for multiple convictions. Paying for or receiving financial compensation for a sexual act is a criminal offense. There are also a large number of prostitution related offenses that can result in serious criminal charges.

It is illegal to knowingly transport someone into the United States for the purpose of engaging in or promoting prostitution. It’s even illegal to encourage someone to travel to the U.S. to take part in the sex trade. An offender can receive a lifetime prison sentence for persuading a minor child to work as a prostitute. Traveling with the intent to engage in illicit sexual conduct for financial benefit is punishable by up to 30 years in prison.

There are even specific legal statutes to discourage prostitution in the vicinity of military bases. Prostitution enterprises are frequently charged as racketeering crimes. There are laws designed to punish prostitution, pimping and the ownership of brothels.

Read here for more information on prostitution.

Back to Top

 


Public Lewdness

Like any other Texas sex crime, a public lewdness conviction can dramatically affect a defendant’s life. The stigma alone is sufficient reason to aggressively fight a public lewdness charge. Simply put, engaging in sexual behavior in a public setting is a violation of the Texas Penal Code. Recklessly disregarding the sensibilities of others in a private setting can also lead to a public lewdness charge.

Even though most public lewdness cases stem from poor judgment by otherwise reasonable people, a public lewdness conviction just isn’t the way to impress friends and family. All it takes is a couple too many drinks and one foolish act to set the legal system in motion.

It’s unfortunate, but sex crime defendants are generally assumed to be guilty. People have even lost their job because of a public lewdness charge. Public lewdness is a Class A offense in Texas and is punishable by up to one year in jail and a fine of no more than $4,000.

Read here for more information on public lewdness.

Back to Top

 


Give Greg Tsioros a call today at (832) 752-5972 to learn how to fight sex crime charges.


Sex Crimes Investigations

It’s not unusual for a suspect to learn that they are the subject of a sex crimes investigation before criminal charges are even filed. A sex crime is a serious criminal offense that can easily result in jail time and financial penalties. Taking immediate action could mean the difference between having a criminal charge dismissed and sustaining a life altering conviction.

It’s important to team up with an experienced sex crimes investigation lawyer to protect your legal rights from the very beginning of a criminal investigation. Many sex crime suspects are personally acquainted with the alleged victim.

False sex crime accusations often arise from custody disputes and other difficult personal circumstances. Sex crime accusations are an effective means of gaining some advantage or damaging a defendant’s reputation. A sex crime suspect should avoid making statements to the police or speaking with the alleged victim. Anything you say can be used against you in court.

Back to Top

 


Sex Crimes Penalties

The stigma and penalties associated with a sex crimes conviction are substantial. Sexual assault charges can be filed for rape, sexual contact and other crimes of a sexual nature. The use of violence, threats, a deadly weapon or a date rape drug is grounds for an aggravated sexual assault charge. Serious penalties are also available for sex related crimes such as child molestation, prostitution, sexting, pornography and child indecency.

The punishment for a second degree sexual assault charge is a sentence of up to 20 years in state prison. Aggravated sexual assault is a first degree felony in Texas. The available penalties include between five years and life in prison.

Sexting is a felony crime in Texas. The penalty for a pornography conviction is up to 20 years in state prison. A sex crime conviction could also result in heavy financial penalties. What’s more, many sex crimes require the defendant to register as a sex offender. The combination of a criminal record and sex offender registration can severely limit a defendant’s ability to access employment, housing and education services.

Read here for more information on sex crimes penalties.

Back to Top

 


Sexual Assault

Sexual assault, usually referred to as rape, is a serious felony crime in the state of Texas. A sexual assault defendant can be sent to prison for up to 20 years and required to pay a maximum fine of $10,000. A criminal suspect can be charged with sexual assault for having sexual relations without the consent of the victim. Things can get even worse if it is alleged that you had sex with a minor child under the age of 17 or someone that was in your care and unable to provide legal consent.

It is automatically assumed that a victim couldn’t have provided legal consent if the defendant used violence, threats or a weapon to compel them to engage in sexual relations. The criminal charge can be enhanced to aggravated sexual assault if the victim suffered serious bodily injury or was threatened with death. Sexual assault charges must be challenged in court in order to protect the legal rights of a criminal defendant.

Read here for more information on sexual assault.

Back to Top

 


Give Greg Tsioros a call today at (832) 752-5972 to learn how to fight we charges.


Sexual Assault of a Child

The percentage of children that are sexually assaulted is staggering. According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, one in six women and one in four men are sexually abused before their 18th birthday. Nevertheless, false accusations of sexual assault are commonplace. Merely being accused of sexually assaulting a child can destroy a defendant’s reputation, family and future.

The laws in Texas pertaining to the sexual assault of children are quite explicit. Anything from fondling to intercourse with a minor child can result in criminal charges, a lengthy prison sentence and harsh financial penalties. Even statutory rape is charged as a sexual assault offense in Texas. A minor child is defined as anyone that is less than 17 years of age.

The Texas Family Code defines sexual assault of a child as any sexual conduct that harms the physical, emotional or mental welfare of a minor child. Sexual assault charges can also be filed for failing to safeguard the welfare of a child or encouraging sexual abuse in any manner.

Read here for more information on sexual assault of a child.

Back to Top

 


Sexual Offender Registration

Sexual offender registration, for either 10 years or life, imposes serious limitations on the future of a convicted felon. Unfortunately, many Texans are falsely accused and convicted of sex offenses like indecency with a minor child, sexual assault, child pornography or solicitation of a minor. Even if the crime was committed in another state, Texas can require you to register as a sex offender.

Sex offender registration is not considered to be a punishment. Even if you accept a plea bargain agreement that doesn’t mandate sex offender registration, the Texas legislature can amend existing law and retroactively include you in the sex offender data base. It happens all the time.

Texas has the toughest sex offender registration laws in the country. It’s essential that a criminal defendant aggressively challenge the prosecution’s evidence in order to protect their legal rights and avoid sex offender registration. The future of both you and your family may be at risk.

Read here for more information on sexual offender registration.

Back to Top

 


Give Greg Tsioros a call today at (832) 752-5972 to learn how to fight sex crime charges.


Solicitation of a Minor

The Internet has revolutionized the crime of soliciting a minor. The Texas Penal Code defines a minor as anyone under the age of 17. Criminal charges can be filed if the prosecution believes that the victim represented themselves as being under the age of 17 or the defendant believed that the victim was under the age of 17 when the crime was committed. The prosecution must also prove that the defendant intended to gratify or arouse the sexual desire of the victim.

A solicitation of a minor charge can be enhanced if the alleged crime involved a minor child under the age of 14. Criminal charges may be dropped if it can be shown that the defendant was no more than three years older than the minor child and that the alleged victim consented to the sexual behavior. The other available defense is to prove that the defendant was legally married to the minor child when the alleged crime was committed.

Read here for more information on solicitation of a minor.

Back to Top

 


Solicitation of Prostitution

An arrest for solicitation of prostitution probably won’t send you to jail, at least for a first offense, but it won’t do your reputation any good either. That’s just the way it is with sex crimes. The payment of money in exchange for sex is illegal in Texas. The truth is that it’s not that hard to get caught up in a government sting operation. Innocent statements are often misconstrued by police officials.

Paying a prostitute to engage in a sexual act is a misdemeanor crime. A solicitation conviction is punishable by probation, community service and financial penalties. Moreover, a prostitution conviction can cause a defendant to lose their job, friends and family. Every prostitution case is unique. The evidence in the case and the actions of the government must be carefully reviewed and challenged.

Every criminal defendant has constitutionally guaranteed rights under the law. It may be possible to have the charges dismissed or reduced. There are even instances when solicitation of prostitution can be charged as a felony. A defendant with multiple convictions may be subject to harsher penalties.

Read here for more information on solicitation of prostitution.

Back to Top

 


Statutory Rape

Statutory rape is a form of sexual assault in the state of Texas. Having consensual sex with a minor child under the age of 17 could result in criminal charges. The defendant must have knowingly or intentionally had sexual contact with a minor child as defined in the Texas Penal Code. It is not necessary to engage in sexual intercourse to be charged with statutory rape.

Sexual crimes are emotionally charged offenses that automatically cause friends, associates and family members to assume the worst. Even though statutory rape charges often arise from false testimony or misunderstandings, a defendant is often assumed to be guilty until proven innocent. Only a comprehensive evaluation of the evidence and a strong defense can turn the tide in a defendant’s favor.

Statutory rape is a 2nd degree felony in Texas. The crime is punishable by a prison sentence of between two and 20 years and a fine of no more than $10,000.

Read here for more information on statutory rape.

Back to Top

 


Call The Law Office of Greg Tsioros for a free consultation: (832) 752-5972